Aeneas receives games club prize

At the Rathmore Parish Night at the Dogs were Lanody More’s winning trainer Johnny O'Sullivan, on behalf of the Rocky-Robin Syndicate, accepting the trophy from sponsor Cllr Niall Kelliher. Also included are organising committee members Tom Fox, Maureen Cremin, John O’Neill, Michael O’Mahony and Fr Pat O’Donnell, PP, Rathmore
At the Rathmore Parish Night at the Dogs were Lanody More’s winning trainer Johnny O’Sullivan, on behalf of the Rocky-Robin Syndicate, accepting the trophy from sponsor Cllr Niall Kelliher. Also included are organising committee members Tom Fox, Maureen Cremin, John O’Neill, Michael O’Mahony and Fr Pat O’Donnell, PP, Rathmore

Rathmore and Gneeveguilla News
Compiled by Michael O’Mahony

THE Kerry Community Games awards night was held at the River Island Hotel, Castleisland and the Rathmore-Gneeveguilla chairman, Aeneas O’Leary, was presented with the runner-up award in the best overall area category for the second year running.

The Paud O’Leary Memorial Award, meanwhile, was presented by Margaret O’Leary to Brid Kenny of Castleisland.

Thank you to the hard-working committee members who helped to win the award and thank you to all the children that took part in the events during the year. Thank you also to their coaches for all their training and commitment and to the children’s families for all their support.

Basketball:  In the under 18 Boys’ Division 2, it finished Gneeveguilla 54 Tralee Tigers 52. It was a thrilling game from start to finish with Gneeveguilla coming out on top by a narrow margin, thanks to fine performances from Darragh O’Callaghan, Conlin O’Leary, Joey Lynch, Jack Cremin, Jack Collins and Alan O’Sullivan.

They lost out by a single point, 49-50 to Rathmore who had built up a 12-point half time lead. Good shooting from Conlin O’Leary and Liam Murphy brought the lead back to four points but a very exciting and tightly contested last quarter saw Rathmore win by a single point.

The under 14 boys saw Gneeveguilla beat TK Bobcats 54-36. Gneeveguilla led after the first quarter with great baskets from Paudie O’Leary and Ronan Collins. Both teams were strong in defence, however Gneeveguilla continued to control the game.

Great scores coming from Damien Cronin and Paudie Murphy enhanced the Gneeveguilla dominance. Ronan Collins was very much on target from the free throw line.

Collection: A diocesan collection for Irish Church commissions and agencies will be taken up this weekend as a second collection at all Masses in the parish.

Novena: The Divine Mercy Novena will be held on the first Friday of every month 8from 8.00-9.00pm in the Nun’s Choir at Rathmore Church.

Coins: St Joseph’s Day Care Centre, Rathmore would be very grateful for donations of one and two cent coins and they will gladly take them in jars, bags or any containers. Please call 064-7758588 or drop them to St Joseph’s Day Care Centre from Monday to Friday before 3.30pm.

Deaths: Sympathy is extended to Angela Cahill and family, Doocarrig, on the death of her mother Mary Kearns, Crossmolina, Co Mayo; to Liam Murphy, Kilquane and Jeremiah Murphy, Old Road, Rathmore on the death of their sister Hannah Mary Lyne, Knockeendubh, Killarney; to Margaret Daly and her sons James and Sean, Renasup on the death of Johnny Daly and also to his sister Noreen Browne, Lacka.
Sympathy is extended also to Noreen, Jim, Martina, Pat, AnnaMaria and Andrew Moynihan on the death of their father Patrick (Paddy Ando) Moynihan, Clounts, Rathmore and Val O’Meara, husband of the late Sheila (nee Murphy) Banard.

Bingo: The Knocknagree Ladies Football Club will host a fundraising bingo session for all the family on Sunday at 3.00pm in Cullen Community Centre. There will be a shop and a raffle on the day and everyone is welcome. Any person or business that would like to sponsor a line or full house, please let Catherine know by calling 083-3498778.
Bingo books will be €15, €10 and €5 on the day.

House: A Rambling House session will be held in the Heritage Centre Scartaglin next Monday at 8.3-pm. Admission and refreshments will be free and all are welcome.

Music: Feile Sliabh Luachra is a revival of the spirit of Sliabh Luachra with music, song and dance encompassing Rathmore, Gneeveguilla, Knocknagree and Tureencahill.

In Rathmore this Saturday there will be a ceilí with the Mountain Road Ceili Band from 9.00pm in Community Centre. In Gneeveguilla on there will be an Afternoon Tea Party in Teach Fáilte where members of the public can enjoy tea, cake and some traditional music from 3.30pm.
In Knocknagree on Saturday, November 14 you can enjoy poetry music, recitations and bands in various venues.

Commemoration: The annual Sean Moylan Commemoration will take place on Sunday, November 15 in Kiskeam. There will be Mass in Church of Sacred Heart at 12 noon followed by parade. The oration will be delivered by Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh.

Cycling: Sliabh Luachra Cycling juvenile club’s fundraiser draw offers a chance to win a Peugeot 208, valued at €18,000. Tickets are available locally and the draw will take place on December 12.

Bingo: There is bingo in Rathmore Community Centre every Friday night at 8.30pm. Everybody welcome.

Friends: The Friends of Kerry General Hospital wish to thank everybody for their support in the church gate collection in Rathmore and Shrone and all those who helped out with the collection. Rathmore contributed €760 and in Shrone the amount collected was €110.22.

Council: The Rathmore Community Council AGM will take place on Wednesday, November 18 at 8.30pm in the Community Centre.

Credit: The following were the 10 winners of prizes selected from the surveys completed by members on Credit Union Day: TJ Howard, Shauna Guerin, Sean O’Donoghue, Mary Hickey, Nora Sheehan, Noreen Finnegan, Siobhan Brosnan, Pat Cassidy, Joan Brosnan and Helen Fitzgerald.

Training: Rathmore Community Council has recently put two defibrillators (AED) in place, one at the Community Centre and one opposite the church. These life-saving devices can give a person in cardiac arrest an 80 per cent chance of survival even before the arrival of an ambulance.

These groups will run certified training courses in the CPR and AED use. Those that have been trained already include Mary Dilworth, Bill Roche, Christina Dilworth, Nora O’Connor, Darren O’Connor, Tony Sheehan, David Reen, Mary McCarthy, Catherine O’Mahony, Patrick MaCarthy, Maire McCarthy and Lucy O’Keeffe.

Anyone interested in these training courses please contact Michael O’Mahony on 087-6676817.