Attacking aces came up trumps at Aghadoe

Coaches Diarmuid O’Malley and Josh Whelan imparting a few words of wisdom to the girls

KILLARNEY Rugby Club’s under 16 girls registered a brilliant Munster League semi-final win at the weekend and there is now great excitement and anticipation ahead of the provincial final showdown.

The very entertaining game was played in front of a large crowd in Aghadoe, Killarney and, right from the start, Killarney attacked but the Bruff defensive line was very much up to the challenge.

In fairness to Killarney, they kept playing good passing rugby, in testing conditions, and Bronagh Dorrian eventually forced her way over the line and duly converted her own try to make it 7-0 at the break.

Killarney stated off the second half right where they left off with Marina Eager, Niamh Dorrian and Ali O’Donoghue making some very good weaving runs but, again, the Bruff tackling was of the highest standards.

Killarney’s attacking strategy caused real problems for Bruff

Bronagh Dorrian eventually got over the line for her second try, following some good play by centre Holly O’Sullivan, and Killarney had a lead of 12 points.

Some excellent interplay by the outstanding Killarney back row set up Clodagh Foley for the try of the day and, with 15 minutes remaining on the clock, the Killarney number 8, Ava O’Malley, picked from the base of the scrum for Killarney’s fourth try of the day which captain Fia Whelan converted to put the tie out of the reach of Bruff.

The Killarney replacements added a lot to their team’s performance. Grainne Kennedy, who had been introduced just after half-time, made a great break but was just denied by yet another great Bruff tackle.

Killarney, managed by Anne Gabbett and coached by Diarmuid O’Malley and Josh Whelan, now await the winners of the other semi-final between Ballincollig and Ennis.

Killarney: Annie O’Reilly, Ella Guerin Crowley, Molly Gabbett, Joanne O’Keefe, Jess O’Sullivan, Melissa McCarthy, Clodagh Foley, Ava O’Malley, Robyn Landers, Fia Whelan (capt), Ali O’Donoghue, Bronagh Dorrian, Holly O’Sullivan, Niamh Dorrian, Marina Eager, Miriam O’Sullivan, Isabella O’Leary, Grainne Kennedy, Lucy O’Sullivan, Nell Moore, Kate Mangan.