Brian O’Leary’s team tames Killeen

Tee-off: The first on the Killeen course.
Picture: Valerie O’Sullivan

A team led and sponsored by auctioneer Brian O’Leary triumphed in the annual Dr Crokes GAA Club golf classic which was held over two days on the Mahony’s Point course in Killarney.

There was a great turnout of over 60 teams for the big event and competition was fierce.

At the presentation of prizes were, front from left, Brian Fitzgerald, Brian O’Leary (captain of the winning Brian O’Leary Auctioneers team), Colm Foley, (sponsor), John Horgan and Teddy O’Sullivan with, back from left, Niall Brosnan, Matt O’Neill (Dr Crokes chairman), Kay O’Connor, Frank Shaw, Liam Hartnett and Brendan Keogh. Picture: Eamonn Keogh

The results were:

  1. Brian O’Leary Auctioneers: Brian O’Leary (18), Brian Fitzgerald (13), John Horgan (16) and Teddy O’Sullivan (20) – 112 points.
  2. Euroshippers; Donal Brosnan (17), Donal O’Connell (18), Niall Brosnan (20), Greg O’Donoghue –109 points.
  3. Randles Bros: Kay O’Connor (17), Anne Stewart (15), Lelia Mahony (19), Sinead Lynch (21) – 105 points.
  4. Killarney Autos: Seamie O’Connor (16), Paudie Lynch (16), Ger Power (12), Tim O’Brien (12) – 105 points.
  5. O’Sullivan Darcy Engineering: Jason O’Sullivan (8), Lee O’Callaghan (7), Michael Cotter (14), Jonathon Sparling (7) – 105 points.
  6. MD O’Shea’s: Mossie Cremin (16), Aidan McGaley (20), Dermot Kelly (19), Dermot O’Connor (20) – 104 points.
  7. Raffle: Fourball in Lahinch Golf Club – Ger O’Sullivan; Afternoon tea in the Kenmare Park Hotel – Leah McMahon and Nessa Galvin.

The Dr Crokes has extended its thanks to Enda Murphy, Paul Cotter and Meg Dalton at Killarney Golf and Fishing Club for ensuring everything was top class and to Ann Bartlett for her hospitality, Matthew Courtney for his work with the tee box signs and to all those who helped out in any way or sold raffle tickets on the day.

Killarney’s best loved news and advertising service. Call 087-2229761 or email [email protected]