Brilliant Beaufort take Croker by storm

Man-of-the-match Liam Carey

Beaufort 3-17 Easkey 0-5

THE gulf in glass, given that it was an All-Ireland final, was quite extraordinary and it was a one-sided encounter right from the throw-in but nothing – absolutely nothing – can take away from the enormous achievement of the Beaufort footballers who were crowned All-Ireland Junior champions in Croke Park yesterday.

A whopping 21 points winning margin over Easkey of Sligo at the final whistle sums up the story of the game but, still, it had to be won and Beaufort set about achieving that task with ruthless precision, sheer tenacity and with the cold, calculating efficiency of a crack commando unit.

Eanna O’Malley had his troops straining at the leash to get at Easkey of Sligo and they set about dismantling the challenge from the very outset with stand-out performances all over the field.

Ronan Murphy was sensational around the middle of the park, Nathan Breen was an able deputy and, in defence, Mike Breen was the standout performer – giving Peter Keane food for thought – while man-of-the-match Liam Carey opened his box of tricks in attack and dazzled the Easkey defence with his magic which yielded 1-5.


Three timely goals, courtesy of Ronan Ferris, full forward Ciaran Kennedy and Carey gave O’Malley’s men a 3-8 to 0-1 lead at half-time and, in reality, the only remaining question at that stage was how great the winning margin would actually be.

Beaufort pressed when they needed to, notching a further nine points before the final whistle shrilled with Padraig Doona, Liam Carey (three), unerring placed ball marksman Fergal Hallissey, Nathan Breen and substitute Niall O’Commor all finding the range on a glorious and proud afternoon for the parish of Beaufort.

Beaufort scorers: Liam Carey 1-5; Cianan Kennedy 1-1; Fergal Hallissey 0-5 (0-4 frees); Danny Healy 0-3; Padraig Doona 0-1; Nathan Breen 0-1; Niall O’Connor 0-1.

Beaufort: M Moriarty, MJ O’Connor, G Hartnett, S Kelliher, J O’Sullivan, M Breen, J Kissane, N Breen, R Murphy; P Doona, L Carey, F Hallissey, D Healy, C Kennedy, R Ferris.

Subs: C O’Connor for J Kissane; D Coffey for D Healy; J O’Reilly for J O’Sullivan; P O’Sullivan for N Breen; N O’Connor for R Ferris; I McGillycuddy for M Breen.

© We have changed the face of local news coverage
Advertise with Kerry’s best read news source: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761