Car No 1 dedicated to Mike and Johnny

Mike Falvey
Johnny Hickey

THE seeded entry list for the Killarney Historic Rally has been altered to honour the memory of two deceased members of the Killarney and District Motor Club.

Car number one has been officially removed from the entry list  to honour former club stalwarts Johnny Hickey and Mike Falvey – who both passed away during the year –  in recognition of their great work and commitment to the various rally events and other club activities over many years.

As a result, Rob Duggan, the 2019 Historic Rally winner,  will now carry the number 64 and will run in the modified section.

Cars number 13 and 55 have also been excluded as they are never used in the Killarney events and this has resulted in a push-down of car numbers.

Ireland’s only rally dedicated to only historic rally cars, classic and modified, will take place next Saturday with competitors battling it out over some world renowned classic stages such as the famous Moll’s Gap.

The rally has attracted a record entry with over 200 entries received meaning a reserve list of over 50 cars. Some highlights on the entry list are World Rally stars Craig Breen and his Killarney co-driver Paul Nagle who will drive a BMW M3.

Also in a BMW will be Donegal’s Donagh Kelly, a regular at the top of the standings in the Irish Tarmac Championship, while local front-runners Rob Duggan and Colin O’Donoghue should provide an unmissable battle for the local bragging rights.