Classy Munster champions honoured in Killarney

St Brendan’s captain Cian McMahon and Shane McGlynn at the presentation of the Corn Uí Mhuirí medals by David Clifford with team management members Gavin White, Bryan O’Mahony, Dr Gary Stack, Seán Coffey, principal, John C O’Shea and Kevin Cronin, trainer, at the Glenagle Hotel, KIllarney.
Pictures: Michelle Cooper Galvin

They came agonizingly close to taking hold of the coveted Hogan Cup though it just wasn’t to be for St Brendan’s College but, still, all involved can reflect on a super season and they did so when the squad members received their Munster Championship (Corn Uí Mhuiri) medals at a reception in the Gleneagle Hotel at the weekend.

Members of the St Brendan’s senior squad: Michael Mullane, Oisin O’Leary, Cian Doyle, Jack Lynch, Aaron O’Sullivan, Harry Byrne, Dara O’Callaghan, John Kelliher, Jack O’Donboghue, with, back from left, Rian Colleran, Tomás Clifford, Brian McCarthy, Cian Lynch, Peter Cosgrave, Dara O’Shea, James Williams and Darragh Fleming pictured with Kerry stars David Clifford and Gavin White

Kerry sharpshooter David Clifford – no stranger to Sem All-Ireland victories – did the honours at the presentation ceremony where he encountered the familiar face of county team-mate Gavin White who is a teacher at the school and part of the senior panel management team,including trainer Kevin Cronin, selectors Dr Gary Stack, Brian O’Mahony, Gavin White and John C O’Shea and college principal Seán Coffey.

The Sem won the Corn Uí Mhuiri – the schools 23rd success at that level – with an impressive 0-17 to 0-12 defeat of defending champions Tralee CBS in the provincial decider at Fitzgerald Stadium in February with Legion attacking ace Will Shine contributing nine points to that great success.

Members of the St Brendan’s senior team Mikey Moriarty, William Shine, Shane McGlynn with, second row from left, Shane McAllister, Lian Randles, Killian O’Sullivan, Alex Hennigan and Colm Kelliher with David Clifford, Gavin White, Dr Gary Stack and John C O’Shea

Some weeks later, in a blockbuster Hogan Cup final, they were just outsmarted by a finely tuned Nass CBS in Croke Park, following a truly epic adventure, full of dramatic twists and turns.

It was the first Hogan Cup success ever for beaten 2019 finalists from Kildare and while St Brendan’s College were chasing title number five, it just wasn’t to be on the day, despite a heroic effort.

The Sem took great consolation from their outstanding Corn Uí Mhuiri victory which was achieved with the stylish brand of football for which the Killarney nursery is renowned.

Inspired by captain Cian McMahon, of the Dr Crokes club, they powered their way through the provincial series with a succession of impressive displays and while the likes of McMahon, Shine, Alex Hennigan and Cian Foley were also outstanding at the back where the Dara O’Callagham Rian Colleran and Darragh Fleming stoodd out with Liam Randles and Killian O’Sullian a match for any other pairing at midfield.

Members of the St Brendan’s senior team who were presented with their Corn Uí Mhuirí medals Mark Clifford, Cian McMahon, captain, Ronan Coffey, Sam Benson with, second row from left, Cian Foley, Luke Crowley, Aódhan O’Neill and, back from left, Shane McAllister, Charlie Keating, Alex Hennigan and Marc O’Shea with David Clifford, Gavin White, Bryan O’Mahony, Rachel and Ben O’Mahony

St Brendan’s College: Aaron O’Sullivan, Cian Lynch, Tomás Clifford, Harry Byrne, Darragh Fleming, Dara O’Callaghan, John Kelleher, Tomás Clifford, Liam Randles, Killian O’Sullivan, Luke Crowley, Cian Foley, Mikey Moriarty, Cian McMahon, Alex Hennigan, Will Shine, Rian Colleran, Charlie Keating, Mark O’Shea. Michael Mullane, Aodhán O’Neill, Brian McCarthy, Colm Kelliher, Sam Benson, Peter Cosgrave, Jack Lynch, Cian Doyle, Mark Clifford, Óisin O’Leary, Shane McAllister, Dara O’Shea.

KillarneyToday.com: Keeping Killarney in the know. To advertise call 087-2229761 or email [email protected]