Clifford brothers both in contention for awards

All-Star nominated footballing brothers David (left) and Paudie Clifford with well-known Killarney personality Ian O’Connell

THE Clifford brothers from Fossa have both been nominated for 2021 All-Stars.

Paudie and David are among seven Kerry players on the shortlist and they are joined by Gavin White off Dr Crokes, Seanie O’Shea, David Moran, Tom O’Sullivan and Brian Ó Beaglaoich.

All-Ireland champions Tyrone – who pipped Kerry by an extra time point in the semi-final – have 15 players included, beaten finalists Mayo have eight and Dublin have five players shortlisted and thee is one from Cork.

Tyrone duo Kieran McGeary and Conor Meyler and Mayo defender Lee Keegan are the contenders for the player of the year award with Tyrone’s Darragh Canavan, Matthew Tierney of Galway and last year’s winner Oisín Mullin of Mayo contesting the young player of the year gong.

The awards will be presented on December 10 and the full list of nominees is:

Gavin White: Shortlisted

Rob Hennelly (Mayo)
Rory Beggan (Monaghan)
Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Brian Ó Beaglaoich, Tom O’Sullivan, Gavin White (Kerry)
Seán Meehan (Cork)
Brian Howard, Mick Fitzsimons (Dublin)
Stephen Coen, Patrick Durcan, Lee Keegan, Pádraig O’Hora (Mayo)
Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan)
Frank Burns, Pádraig Hampsey, Peter Harte, Conor Meyler, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Kieran McGeary (Tyrone)

David Moran (Kerry)
Oisín O’Neill (Armagh)
Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Matthew Ruane (Mayo)
Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick (Tyrone)

David Moran has been nominated for one of the midfield spots

David Clifford, Paudie Clifford, Seán O’Shea (Kerry)
Mattie Donnelly, Darren McCurry, Conor McKenna, Cathal McShane, Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
Rian O’Neill (Armagh)
Eoin Cleary (Clare)
Michael Langan (Donegal)
Cormac Costello, Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
Shane Walsh (Galway)
Daniel Flynn (Kildare)
Tommy Conroy, Ryan O’Donoghue (Mayo)
Jack McCarron (Monaghan)