Deirdre will be a hard act to follow

Danny McClure: Joint PRO

IT is often said that it takes two men to do one woman’s job and that could well be the message that was sent out at the annual general meeting of Milltown-Castlemaine GAA Club which was held, virtually, at the weekend.

Hugely efficient club PRO Deirdre O’Sullivan stepped down at the meeting and it was decided that she would be replaced by a team of two men who said they realise they have a very hard act to follow.

Danny McClure and Dara O’Connor are the duo tasked with keeping the activities of the club in the media spotlight and they have praised their predecessor for her incredible work over recent years.

“Deirdre not only represented the club superbly as PRO over the last number of years but she was also involved in a number of other roles,” they said in a joint statement.

“Of these many roles, providing our club and community with informative weekly notes was one of her most important and she did fantastically each and every week.

“We have big shoes to fill but we have been well trained, having worked with Deirdre for the last number of years,” Danny and Dara said.

At the outset of the online annual general meeting, sympathy was extended to the family of club president, John Burke, who passed away during the year.

Going forward, the club executive will have a new look with several changes in personnel and members have been generous in their praise of the outgoing executive who put in a tremendous effort.

Those on the thank you list included Podge Leane, Mike Carroll, Colin O’Grady, John Joe Harmon, Eileen Spring, Damian McCarthy, Emir Bevan, Mike Hickey, Gary Murphy, Deirdre O’Sullivan, Sinead Clendenin, Adele O’Dwyer, Philip O’ Reilly, Eileen Lovett, Timmy Teahan and David Bevan.

The following officers were elected:

President: Tom Griffin
Vice Presidents: Danny Roberts, Jimmy Boyle, George McKenna, Jack Kerins, Pat Twiss, Brother John Guinane
Chairperson: John Foley
Vice Chairperson: Emmett Spring
Secretary: Susan Joy Sheehan
Assistant Secretary and Insurance Officer: Catherine O’Connor
Treasurer: Ann Hogan
Assistant Treasurers: Derek Twiss and Andy Fitzpatrick
PROs: Danny McClure and Dara O’Connor
Cultural Officer: Catherine Dennehy
Children’s Officer: Shane Dinham
Players’ Representative: Brendan Delaney
Registrar: Karena Spring
Coaching Officers: Ian Twiss and Liam Doherty
Coiste na nÓg Chairperson: Ollie Kirwan
Assistant Coiste na nÓg Secretary: Joan O’Shea
Health and Wellbeing Officer: John Hegarty.
County Board Delegate: Linus Burke
Mid Kerry Board Delegate: Paud Hogan
Covid Officer: Claire O’Sullivan

KillarneyToday.com: Incredible value advertising available. Email: [email protected] Call 087-2229761