Fianna Fail still seeking candidate in Killarney

The three successful candidates, Cllrs John Francis Flynn, Norma Moriarty and Michael Cahill, with constituency chairman Christy O’Connell (left) and Cllr Niall Kelleher who chaired the convention

FIANNA Fail has finalised its dream ticket for the 2019 local elections in the Kenmare area.

Outgoing councillors Norma Moriarty, John Francis Flynn and Michael Cahill have been given the green light to contest the six-seat district after over 80 delegates met last night in Waterville.

John O’Donoghue: withdrew before the convention

Former TD and high-profile minister John O’Donoghue pulled out of the race last week having been nominated by party members in October.

The FF ticket for the Election 19 is now nearly complete Cllr Michael D O’Shea and Breandán Fitzgerald selected in the Dingle Electoral Area, Cllr Tom McEllistrim and Fionnán Fitzgerald in Castleisland and Cllr Jimmy Moloney and Cllr John Lucid in Listowel.

Fianna Fail in Killarney has already selected Cllr Niall Kelleher and Cllr Norma Foley in Tralee with other candidates being actively pursued in both areas.

There had been four other candidates nominated in the Killarney area but former councillor Tom Doherty, postman John O’Shea and auctioneer Ken O’Sullivan all pulled out and Cllr John Joe Culloty decided to step down from politics.

© We’re changing the face of local news coverage
Advertise with us: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761