Fourth O’Sullivan Cup success complete

The jubilant Spa players celebrate their win at the final whistle

WITH their senior team making an impact at in the top flight of the county league, Spa’s junior footballers also had cause to celebrate at the weekend when they registered a six-points victory over Rathmore in the final of the O’Sullivan Cup Junior Football Championship.

The Spa management, Billy Morris, John O’Donoghue and James Fitzgerald with captain Brian Devane and man-of-the-match Niall McCarthy

The final score at Fitzgerald Stadium was 2-17 to 2-11 in Spa’s favour and it was the club’s fourth time winning the competition, the previous victories coming in 1994, 1997 and 2016.

After the game, Con O’Sullivan was on hand to present the O’Sullivan Cup to Spa captain Brian Devane, with his mother, Kathleen, presenting the man-of-the-match award to Niall McCarthy.

Spa: James Devane, Brian Devane, Eoghan Cronin, Paudie O’Donoghue, Eoin Fitzgerald, Shane Lynch, Hugh O’Donoghue, Ciaran Spillane, Andy Fitzgerald, Gary Vaughan, Niall McCarthy, Shane Fenton, Mikey Moynihan, David Spillane, Cian Tobin.

Subs: Eoin Cronin, Paul Cahill, Conor Kerins, Thomas Fleming, Brian Lynch, Conor Stack.

© is the 24/7 online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise to grow your business: Over 310,000 views every month. Over 21,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761