Galaxy of stars perform in Killarney

AN eclectic line-up of entertainment stars took to the stage at the INEC in Killarney for the prestigious Irish Post Music Awards, in association with IMRO, which was broadcast live on TG4.

Chris de Burgh, Phil Coulter, The Blizzards, Una Healy, Beoga, The High Kings, Ryan McMullan and Zali all delivered power-packed performances with TV presenter Síle Seoige and singer-songwriter Malachi Cush on hand to get the party started.

The inaugural Irish Post Awards featured nine categories, including best country, best folk and best pop and rock acts while a Lifetime Achievement Award was also presented to balladeer and songwriter Phil Coulter. The winners were chosen by a panel of distinguished judges and a public vote.

The award winners were:

Best Irish Indie Act: The Academic
Best Irish Country Act: Cliona Hagan
Best Irish Folk Act: Aoife Scott
Outstanding Contribution to Music in Ireland through the Medium of Radio or Television: Roddie Cleere
Best Irish Pop/Rock Act: The Coronas
Lifetime Award in the Music Industry: Chris de Burgh
Best Irish Single: Zali – Girls Like Us
Best Irish Album: Picture This – This Morning
Lifetime Achievement Award: Phil Coulter

Pictures: Sally MacMonagle. Click on individual images for details

© Reaching tens of thousands of people every day. To advertise call 087-2229761 or email [email protected]