Keane’s call up for super Mac

Kevin McCarthy is in from the start

JUST weeks after he produced one of the great individual performances in Croke Park, when he bagged an incredible 3-7 from play in the All-Ireland Intermediate Championship final, Kilcummin’s Kevin McCarthy makes his first start with the Kerry senior team under Peter Keane this Sunday.

He will be hoping to reproduce at least some of the astonishing form he showed in the 13-point demolition of Naomh Eanna when Kerry take to the field against a Monaghan side desperately in need of points at Fitzgerald Stadium.

McCarthy who overcame a broken hand to produce one of the best ever individual performances by a Kerryman at GAA headquarters, which made him the obvious man-of-the-match award winner, lines out at corner forward with Spa’s Dara Moynihan moving to the wing and Diarmuid O’Connor starting on the bench.

The only other change from the side that overcame Galway in Tuam last weekend sees Brian Ó Beaglaíoch returning from a one-game ban to replace Shane Enright at corner-back.

Kerry are the only team in the top flight that have yet to lose a game with Keane’s side gunning for their fifth consecutive victory following previous wins over Galway, Dublin, Cavan and Tyrone.

Kerry are still without David Clifford, James O’Donoghue, Paul Geaney, David Moran, Tadhg Morley and Adrian Spillane as well as the Dr Crokes contingent who are preparing for their own big day on March 17.

Kerry: Shane Ryan (Rathmore), Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers), Jack Sherwood (Firies), Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Paul Murphy (Rathmore), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Jack Barry (Na Gaeil), Mark Griffin (St Michael’s Foilmore), DiaDara Moynihan (Spa), Seanie O’Shea (Kenmare), Gavin O’Brien (Kerins O’Rahillys), Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin), Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare).

Subs: Brian Kelly (Legion), Shane Enright (Tarbert), Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil), Jason Foley (Ballydonogue), Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), Mikey Geaney (Dingle), Conor Geaney (Dingle), Jonathan Lyne (Legion), Killian Spillane (Templenoe), Denis Daly (St Marys).

© is the online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise to boost your business: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761