Kelliher’s killer goal set up Sem victory

Alex Hennigan: Notched three points
Spa’s Timmy Moynihan: Two points from play

St Brendan’s College, Killarney 1-12
St Francis College, Rochestown 1-4

Without ever having to hit top gear, or even anywhere near it, title holders St Brendan’s College, Killarney comfortably retained their Munster Colleges SFC (Corn Uí Mhuiri) title with an eight point victory against St Francis College, Rochestown at Mallow this Saturday.

A timely second half goal from hugely impressive midfielder, John Kelliher, who burst through the defence before planting the ball in the net, proved decisive against an injury hit Cork side struggling to make a mark on the scoresheet.

Kelliher’s strike couldn’t have come at a better time as it immediately cancelled out the only other goal of the game, scored by Rochestown’s Seán Coakley after 53 minutes, which left the scoreline reading 1-10 to 1-3 in the Sem’s favour.

St Brendan’s College could even afford the luxury of a missed penalty in the first half with Aodhan O’Neill wide of the mark but scores from the impressive Luke Crowley and the always dangerous Alex Hennigan – both involved last year also last year also – helped them to a 0-5 to 0-3 interval lead.

The Killarney side hit a purple patch in the third quarter – and won the game in the process – with five points without reply with the aforementioned Kelliher, Hennigan, Jamie Moynihan, Crowley and Spa’s Timmy Moynihan all making their mark.

Rochestown, shy on the scoreboard, ran out of steam and ideas and the Sem eased their way to a 1-12 to 1-4 success to set up an All-Ireland semi-final date with the Connacht champions in a fortnight.

It was the Killarney school’s 24th Munster title at this level and they will now be hoping to go one better and make up for last year’s Hogan Cup final loss to Nass CBS.

St Brendan’s College scorers: J Kelliher 1-1, L Crowley 0-5 (0-1 free)), A Hennigan 0-3, T Moynihan 0-2, J Moynihan 0-1.

St Brendan’s College: S O’Meara, M Lynch, C Lynch, J Williams, S Fitzgerald, K O’Shea, J Moynihan, J Kelleher, D Ryan, T Moynihan, A O’Neill, A Hennigan, C Cronin, L Crowley, C Courtney.

Subs: P Moynihan for C Courtney; N O’Carroll for C Cronin (inj); L Daly for J Moynihan; S Doolan for T Moynihan;E Kelly for Hennigan. Everyone reads it – ask anyone. Call 087-2229761 to advertise