Kerry seek out six of the best

James Costello: Starting his first campaign at the helm

THE Kerry team to play Cork in this season’s Munster Minor Football Championship opener – with the game fixed for Cork at 7.00pm on Tuesday – has been named.

As Kerry start the search for six, new manager James Costello, of St Pat’s Blennerville, has included several East Kerry players in his starting line-up and wearing the green and gold will be Eoghan O’Sullivan of Killarney Legion, Emmet O’Shea of Fossa, Alan Dineen of Rathmore and Ronan Collins of Gneeveguilla while Beaufort will also be well represented by Sean O’Brien and Jack O’Connor with the latter captaining the side.

On the bench on the night will be Jason Kerins and Terry Sparling of Dr Crokes and Ryan O’Grady of Killarney Legion.

Kerry: Devon Burns (Na Gaeil), Luke Chester (Austin Stacks), Alan Dineen (Rathmore), Kieran O’Sullivan (Tuosist), Eoghan O’Sullivan (Legion), Adan Curran (Austin Stacks), Sean O’Brien (Beaufort), Joseph Lenihan (Knocknagoshel), Ronan Collins (Gneeveguilla), Colin Corkery (Templenoe), Jack O’Connor (Beaufort), Gearoid Haseett (Laune Rangers), Dylan Geaney (Dingle), Darragh Lynch (Listowel Emmets), Emmet O’Shea (Fossa).

Subs: Austin Murphy (St Marys), Kevin Goulding (Ballyduff), Jason Kerins (Dr Crokes), Ryan O’Grady (Legion), Tomas Hanafin (Na Gaeil). Tommy Cronin (Kenmare), Terry Sparling (Dr Crokes), Cathal Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht).

Additional panel members who didn’t make the matchday squad for this encounter were Eanna O’Connor, Oisin Maunsell and Sean Sheahan (all Na Gaeil), Donal Bowley (Kerins O’Rahillys), Cathal Ryan (Rathmore), Ruiari Doyle (Fossa), Cian O’Connor (Kenmare), Cian O’Donoghue (St Marys), Tadhg Ó Maoldomhnaigh (Duagh) and Seamus Lynch (An Ghaeltacht).

© is the 24/7 online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise to boost your business: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761