Kerry students impress at Young Scientist event

Killorglin Community College shared this snapshot of its Young Scientists bright sparks on social media

BRIGHT spark Kerry students made their mark in no uncertain terms in this year’s BT Young Scientist competition.

Pobalscoil Inbhear Scéine, Kenmare students Conor Casey and Hannah Coombs scooped two awards and brought home the special CSO Open Data Award and a category award in the Chemical, Physical and Mathematical Sciences field.

Timothy McGrath, a student in Killorglin Community College, was a prizewinner in the Biological and Ecological Sciences category and Padraig Crean, Michael Carroll and Michael Kirby from CBS, Tralee, won a group prize in the Social and Behavioural Sciences field.

Leah Ní Sheanacháin and Sarah Nic Gerailt from Gaelcholáiste Chiarraí were highly commended for their displays, while Nicola Moriarty, Patrick Nolan, Sean Fitzgibbon, Sean Hennessy and John McCrohan from Mercy Mounthawk Secondary School in Tralee were also on the winning podium.

Niamh Coffey, Abby O’Leary and Claire Joy, from St Brigid’s Presentation Secondary School in Killarney received a prize for the quality of their display as did Killorglin Community College pupils Timothy McGrath and Natasha Myers.

© We have changed the face of local news coverage
Advertise with Kerry’s premier news source: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761