Kerry unchanged for the big test in Croker

David Clifford: Playing in his first League Final

THE Kerry team for Sunday’s glamour National Football League final in Croke Park (4.00pm) is the same that started in last weekend’s victory over Roscommon.

Kilcummin’s Kevin McCarthy, who sustained a nasty shoulder injury in the very early stages in Dr Hyde Park, has recovered in time for the big occasion and the only alteration is that he swaps corners with hotshot David Clifford.

Keane has resisted the temptation to recall any of the Dr Crokes players to the match day squad with Gavin White, Micheál Burns, Shane Murphy and David Shaw all excluded.

In their absence, Rathmore’s Paul Murphy will skipper the side in the final.

Mayo were the only team to beat Kerry – on a miserable night in Tralee – in this year’s campaign as Keane’s side overcame the challenges of Cavan, Tyrone, Dublin, Galway and Roscommon, playing some superb attacking football along the way.

Kerry: Shane Ryan (Rathmore), Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers), Jack Sherwood (Firies), Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), Gavin Crowley (Templenoe), Paul Murphy (Rathmore), Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle), Jack Barry (Na Gaeil), Diarmuid O’Connor (Na Gaeil), Dara Moynihan (Spa), Seanie O’Shea (Kenmare), Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare), David Clifford (Fossa), Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), Kevin McCarthy (Kilcummin),

Subs: Brian Kelly (Legion), Shane Enright (Tarbert), Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), Jason Foley (Ballydonogue), Brian Ó Beaglaíoch (An Ghaeltacht), Mark Griffin (St Michael’s Foilmore), Gavin O’Brien (Kerins O’Rahillys), Adrian Spillane (Templenoe), James O’Donoghue (Legion), Jonathan Lyne (Legion), Paul Geaney (Dingle), Killian Spillane (Templenoe), Conor Geaney (Dingle).

© is the 24/7 online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise to boost your business: Over 300,000 views every month. Over 20,000 followers on Facebook. Call 087-2229761