Killarney takes third and fourth

Report: Pat Harnett

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 15.51.22THE third round of the Cycling Clubs of Kerry road race League took place in Currow with over 80 riders involved and it produced the third different winner of the season.

Tom Knight of the Nicolas Roche Performance Team registered a narrow win when he just got the better of Oran Pierse of Tralee Manor West iBike who is in great form and was looking to make it two wins in a row.

Killarney CC members Lee Hewerdine and Mike Murphy took third and fourth places with John Brosnan of Moda Kingdom Endurance next over the line, showing no ill effects of his exertions in the An Post Rás.

John Blackwell, unattached, took the final point from this round.

Suzanne O’Sullivan from the host club was on familiar roads and the big crowds out supporting her saw her take the win the Ladies section.

The under 16 section was a cracking race with six riders together for most of the race. It was only in the final 500 meters that the three Tralee Manor West iBike riders opened a small gap on the following three.

David Fitzgerald took the win from Jake Deering and Kieran Coggins. Fergal Murphy from Killarney CC was fourth, Pat Sheehan from Sliabhra CC finished fifth and Patrick White of Manor West iBike was in sixth.

Tralee Manor West iBike’s Sean Barrett is proving hard to catch at under 14 level this season and in the end he had a decent gap over the hard chasing Patrick Galvin of Killarney CC.

Eoin Maloney from Tralee Manor West iBike was third, Tadgh O’Shea of Killorglin took fourth followed by Kingdom’s Ciaran Coggins with Stefan Caufield Drier in sixth.

There was a Killarney CC win in the under 12’s with Shane Galvin first over the line. Adam Lenihan of Kingdom took the second spot with Aona O’Shea in third. Kingdom’s Zac Boyle is enjoying a good first season and he was next over the line followed by two Killarney CC riders – Eoin Crowley and Killian Caulfield Drier.

This Thursday its back to the time trial action where the question is can anyone catch Denis Dunworth? Or can Dunworth break his own record of 25 minutes 47 seconds which he set last year?