McCarthy brothers held Spa to edge it

Brothers Niall and Mike McCarthy in action against Dingle

Spa News

In round five of the county league Spa edged out Dingle 2-14 to 1-15 in a nailbiting finish to keep their unbeaten record in Division One.

Mike Stam O’Donoghue and Andrew Garnett were outstanding in midfield. James Devane pulled off great saves and Spa controlled the first half with great team work and were six points ahead at half time in Dingle.

Dingle clawed their way back, however, and scored 1-3 unanswered by Spa who saw the game slipping away but he experienced Mike Stam O’Donoghue scored a goal to bring them back into the game.

Brothers Mike and Niall McCarthy stepped it up and scored to level the game and Evan Cronin scored a point before Mike Stam scored the last score of the game, with a free, to win by two.

Team: James Devane, Eric O’Donoghue, Dan O’Donoghue, Eoin Cronin, David Spillane, Eoin Fitzgerald, Shane Lynch, Andrew Garnett, Mike O’Donoghue, Niall McCarthy, Ryan O’Carroll, Mike McCarthy, Conor Stack, Evan Cronin and Dara Moynihan.  Subs: Paudie O’Donoghue, Shane Fenton and Hugh O’Donoghue.

Lily: Spa GAA Club is delighted to announce that the judges for the 2018 Lily of Killarney competition are Jake Carter and Karen Byrne, winners of RTÉ Dancing with The Stars.  Tickets will be on sale this Thursday and next Monday night in the reception area of the Gleneagle Hotel from 8.30pm to 9.30pm.

Collection: Please drop off used any condition but clean clothes, shoes and other goods to the Spa clubhouse for the club’s clothes collection. Further info contact Anne Holland 085-7780883.

Trust: Anyone looking for sponsorship cards for the Ian O’Connell Trust for the Ring of Kerry Charity Cycle please contact Deirdre on 087-6332773. Volunteers are needed for the event on Saturday, July 7 and anyone available to help please contact Deirdre or the cycle committee.

Golf: The Spa GAA golf classic will be held on Friday, July 20 at Mahony’s Point, Killarney. The entry fee for teams of four is €240 or tee-box sponsorship is €100. To enter a team, book tee times or sponsor a tee box contact Billy Morris (086-8579248); Mary Cronin (087-6898146); Seanie Kelliher (087-6298613) or Andrew Garnett (086-1911263)

Lotto: The GAA club lotto numbers drawn were 1, 5, 7 and 22 with no jackpot winner. Lucky dip winners were Cormac Cronin, Coolcorcoran, Grainne O Connor, Whitebridge Manor, Lyno and AnnMarie Hickey. The draw next week will be in the Arbutus for a jackpot of €3,900.

© Reaching tens of thousands of people every day. To advertise call 087-2229761 or email [email protected]