Progressive school honours some super performers

Killorglin Community College, widely regarded as a pioneering and progressive school, celebrated its student awards ceremony with principal Fiona O’ Brien commenting that the occasion gave the whole school community the opportunity to applaud and honour its students for their hard work and achievements.

Vera Kerrisk (Deputy Principal), Jade O’Connor (Guest of Honour), Federica Lazarri (Student
of the Year) and Fiona O’Brien (Principal)

The ceremony, hosted by deputy principal Vera Kerrisk, saw over 50 students recognised for their achievements with awards presented in multiple categories ranging from academic excellence to diligence to Gaisce and achievement awards.

The guest of honour for the evening was past pupil Jade O’Connor who has received many distinguished awards in her time.

Vera Kerrisk (Deputy Principal), Ethan Victor (Best Leaving Cert 2022), Jade O’Connor (Guest of Honour), Pádraig Casey (Best Junior Cert 2022) and Fiona O’Brien (Principal)

During her inspirational speech, Jade credited the faculty members of Killorglin Community College with encouraging her to follow her dream of becoming a primary school teacher and she attributed her development as a teacher to the qualities and teaching styles of teachers at the college which she strives to mirror.

Jade highlighted to students the importance of having a good work ethic, of being ambitious and enthusiastic and of how her diligence and ambition have paved the way for her many educational and professional successes.

The most coveted award of the night, Student of the Year, went to Federica Lazzari, a wonderful, dedicated student who hails from Italy. She had originally intended to spend a year at the college but her experience and enjoyment was such that she decided to remain in Kerry for a second year and complete her Leaving Certificate.

Federica will study politics, psychology, law and economics at the University of Amsterdam next year.

Ethan Victor received the award for Best Leaving Certificate of 2022 and he is studying medicine at the Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin while Padraig Casey received the Best Junior Certificate of 2022 Award.

Tommy Moriarty (Liebherr), Áine Scott (Liebherr Senior Award winner for Technology), John Gerard Kissane (Liebherr Junior Award winner for Technology) and Fiona O’Brien (Principal)

Killorglin Community College has a strong STEM and creative focus and that was reflected in many of awards of the night.

Áine Scott and John Gerard Kissane were honoured with the Liebherr Junior/Senior Technology and Maths Awards while Shauna McCarthy and Darren O’Sullivan were the winners of the Senior/Junior Astellas Science and Maths Awards.

Áine Scott and Olimpia Dyrdal were the deserving recipients of the Killorglin Community College K-FEST Senior and Junior Art Award and the Cara Credit Union Senior and Junior Award for Computing went to Conán Dennehy and Seoide Larkin.

The AIB Senior and Junior Award for Languages,meanwhile, were presented to Sarah Coffey and Max Hamilton.

The Fexco Senior and Junior Business Awards were taken home by Thomas McIntyre and Niamh O’Sullivan.

Other awards acknowledged aspects of school life. The Aqua Design Junior/Senior Sports Achievements awards went to Sophia Doherty and Lori O’ Connor while the Bank of Ireland Junior/Senior School Ethos Awards are incredibly special awards that acknowledge students who best represent the college’s core values and these went to two very deserving winners Colm Kingdon and Eleanor Memery.

Student of the Year 2022/2023: Federica Lazzari
Best Leaving Certificate 2022: Ethan Victor
Best Junior Certificate 2022: Padraig Casey
Astellas Senior Award for Science and Maths: Shauna McCarthy`
Astellas Junior Award for Science and Maths: Darren O’Sullivan
Fexco Senior Award for Business: Thomas McIntyre
Fexco Junior Award for Business: Niamh O’Sullivan
Liebherr Senior Award for Technology and Maths: Áine Scott
Liebherr Junior Award for Technology and Maths: John Gerard Kissane
Cara Credit Union Senior Award for Computing: Conán Dennehy
Cara Credit Union Junior Award for Computing: Seoide Larkin
AIB Senior Award for Languages: Sarah Coffey
AIB Junior Award for Languages: Max Hamilton
K-FEST Senior Art Award: Áine Scott
 K-FEST Junior Art Award: Olimpia Dyrdal
Aqua Design Senior Sports Person Award: Sophia Doherty
Aqua Design Junior Sports Person Award: Lori O’Connor
Senior School Ethos Award: Colm Kingdon
Junior School Ethos Award: Eleanor Memery Be wise and advertise where it’s seen. Email: or Call 087-2229761