Rob and Colin triumph on home soil

Winning Killarney drivers Rob Duggan (left) the overall historic rally winner, and Colin O’Donoghue, overall modified winner, with Michael O’Mahoney, Rentokil Initial Ireland Managing Director at the prizegiving ceremony at the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney.
Pictures: Eamonn Keogh

IN what was a wonderfully sweet victory on home turf, Killarney rally ace Rob Duggan romped to a sensational victory in the Rentokil Initial Killarney Historic Stages Rally at the weekend.

Rob Duggan and Ger Conway, overall winners of the Rentokil Initial Killarney Historic Rally, receive the Maurice Nagle Memorial Cup from Angela Nagle and Michael O’Mahoney, Rentokil Initial Ireland

He and co-driver Ger Conway finished 14 seconds clear of the renowned world rally duo of Craig Breen and Paul Nagle and the victory sparked off great celebrations for fans of the young Killarney driver.

Duggan, driving Ford Escort Mk2, is no stranger to success having become the first ever to win both the modified and the historic categories and he and Conway previously clinched the DMACK Junior title in the British Rally Championship.

Rob Duggan and Ger Conway, overall winners, Michael O’Mahoney, Rentokil Initial Ireland Managing Director, Colin O’Donoghue and Sean Collins, modified winners

Although Breen and Nagle pushed hard and relentlessly in their RS1800, particularly through the two stages in the Gap of Dunloe, Duggan led from the outset and held on to register a famous win after getting a good break on the first loop and they brought home Maurice Nagle and James Devane cups.

Last year’s winners Eoin Murphy and Anthony Nestor were third ahead of Wales competitor Neil Williams and Anthony O’Sullivan as well as Dubliner Robert Barrable and Damien Connolly.

It was a great rally too for a number of other Kerry drivers including Alan Ring and Adrian Deasy who finished seventh overall in their BMWM3, Denis Cronin and Helen O’Sullivan were ninth and Todd Falvey and Iarla McCarthy finished in 12th position.

Another Killarney driver, Colin O’Donoghue, with Sean Collins navigating clinched the modified championship in their power-packed Mk2 Escort.

© is the 24/7 online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise for Christmas to reach up to 18,000 readers every day with over 300,000 views every month and over 22,000 followers on Facebook