‘This is a special honour which I will treasure’

Seán Kelly: Hall of Fame

MEP Seán Kelly, widely acknowledged as the most dynamic and progressive president of the GAA in its long and colourful history, has been honoured by St Pat’s East Kerry hurling club for his dedication to club affairs and his commitment to the sport.

He was inducted into the prestigious hall of fame at the weekend to mark his involvement with the club since its formation in 1982.

One of St Pat’s finest days when they won the County Junior Championship in 2014

“This is a special honour which I will treasure,” said the Kilcummin man, now living in Fossa, who spearheaded the drive to open up Croke Park to other sports, including rugby and soccer.

Seán was presented with a specially commissioned piece of art created by Denis Coffey.

Other guests of honour at the St Pat’s awards night were Kerry camogie stars Ann Marie Leen, Aoife Behan and Brid Horan who brought the Kathleen Mills Cup with them.
Crotta player Adam O’Sullivan, captain of the Kerry under 21’s All-Ireland winning team was also in attendance with the  Richard McElligot Cup.

Rita Fogarty was recognised for her great work as children’s officer over the past four years while player and coach Donal Casey was named our club person of the year.

Senior player of the year was Tomas Holohan, Mark O’Connor was the senior player nominated for recognition by the juvenile members and the juveniile player of the year was Cian O’Rourke.

© is the 24/7 online news service provided by O’Mahony Media
Advertise for Christmas to reach up to 18,000 readers every day with over 300,000 views every month and over 22,000 followers on Facebook