William and Cillian included in star selection

William Shine was in terrific form for Kerry this season

Kerry has two players on the shortlist for the top 20 under 20 players from this year’s thrilling EirGrid GAA Football Championship.

The Munster champions will be represented by Munster Player of the Province William Shine of Killarney Legion and Cillian Burke of Milltown/Castlemaine.

Tomás Ó Sé’s side looked impressive when registering a double scores 2-12 to 1-6victory against Cork in the Munster final but they lost out to Sligo in the All-Ireland semi-final to end the season that promised so much on a disappointing note.

The EirGrid 20 Under 20 star team

  1. Cormac Barker, Kildare
  2. Harry O’Neill, Kildare
  3. Ryan Burke, Kildare
  4. James McGrath, Kildare
  5. Dylan Walsh, Sligo
  6. Rossa Sloyan, Sligo
  7. Theo Clancy, Dublin
  8. Patrick McCarthy, Down
  9. Canice Mulligan, Sligo
  10. Odhran Murdock, Down
  11. Brian McNamara, Clare
  12. Shane Farrell, Kildare
  13. Cillian Burke, Kerry
  14. William Shine, Kerry
  15. Daire O’Boyle, Sligo
  16. Luke Marren-Sligo
  17. Callum Bolton, Kildare
  18. Colm Dalton, Kildare
  19. Oisin Savage, Down
  20. Cillian Ó’Curraoin, Galway
Kildare defender James McGrath has been named EirGrid under 20 Player of the Year

Kildare defender James McGrath has been named EirGrid under 20 Player of the Year. The Athy man, part of the team who narrowly lost last year’s final, marshalled Kildare’s defence helping the Lilywhites win their second title in five years after a hard-fought victory over a spirited Sligo side at Breffni Park.

EirGrid Chief Executive Mark Foley said the under 20 competition continues to transform the possibilities for the next generation of footballers.

“It is important to recognise the key players that enabled their team, and the competition, to power forward this year. We look forward to seeing these exciting footballers excel in the senior ranks in the coming years,” he said.

KillarneyToday.com: Be wise and advertise where it’s seen. Email: news@killarneytoday.com or Call 087-2229761