It won’t change, change utterly at the top table

John O’Leary of the Spa Club in Killarney is stepping down as PRO but taking up a post in the Munster Council

WHEN it comes to the GAA in Kerry, breaking up is hard to do.

Despite the fact that five outgoing officers are stepping down from their positions because of the five-year rule, the new-look Kerry County Board will have a very familiar look after the December 11 convention as they are seeking election to different positions.

The end result is a reshuffling of the chairs at the top table as many of the outgoing officers are getting a clear run at it with, in the main, no other candidates declaring. All nominations for officer posts are now known following the passing of the declaration deadline on Monday evening.

Five of the outgoing officers, Munster Council delegates Christy Killeen and Joe Crowley, Cultural Officer Leona Twiss, PRO John O’Leary and Hurling Officer Ger McCarthy have to vacate their positions due to the five-year stipulation while outgoing Assistant Secretary Stephen O’Sullivan is not seeking re-appointment.

Assistant Treasurer Paudie Dineen will also vacate his current position but he will take up the post of Hurling Officer.

Christy Killeen is returning to the county committee as Cultural Officer, Leona Twiss is back on the county committee as PRO, the man vacating that position, John O’Leary, is to become a Munster Council delegate as is Ger McCarthy who is stepping down as Hurling Officer.

In the only contest to be fought out at convention, outgoing Munster Council delegate, Joe Crowley from Laune Rangers will face competition from Dingle’s Derry Murphy and Pat McAuliffe of John Mitchels.

Leona Twiss of the Milltown-Castlemaine club: new PRO

The one new face guaranteed on the executive is that of Fionán Fitzgerald from the Ballymacelligott club will become the new Assistant Secretary in place of Stephen O’Sullivan.

The full-time position of County Secretary, held by Peter Twiss, is appointed on a seven-year term by Croke Park on the recommendation of the county executive and the Children’s Officer post, currently held by Bernie Reen of the Rathmore Club, is appointed at convention on the recommendation of the outgoing county committee.

The convention will be held in the Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney on Monday, December 11 and the nominations are:

Chairman:  Tim Murphy (Brosna)            
Vice Chairman: Diarmuid Ó Sé (Dromid Pearses)     
Secretary: Peter Twiss (Milltown Castlemaine) 
Treasurer: Dermot Lynch (Annascaul)         
Central Council: John Joe Carroll (Asdee)        
Development Officer: Eamonn Whelan (St Senans)  
Coaching Officer: Terence Houlihan (Laune Rangers)     

Derry Murphy of Dingle will contest the Assistant Treasurer election

PRO: Leona Twiss (Milltown-Castlemaine)
Hurling Officer: Paudie Dineen (Abbeydorney)
Assistant Secretary: Fionán Fitzgerald (Ballymacelligott)
Cultural Officer: Christy Killeen (Finuge)
Munster Council (2): Ger McCarthy (Causeway); John O’Leary Spa)
Assistant Treasurer (1): Derry Murphy (Dingle); Joe Crowley (Laune Rangers); Pat McAuliffe (John Mitchels) To book Christmas advertising call 087-2229761 or email [email protected]